Department of Biochemistry University of Oxford Department of Biochemistry
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QU

Tel: +44 (0)1865 613200
Fax: +44 (0)1865 613201
Anaphase bridges in fission yeast cells
Whitby lab
Lactose permease represented using bending cylinders in Bendix software
Caroline Dahl, Sansom lab
Epithelial cells in C. elegans showing a seam cell that failed to undergo cytokinesis
Serena Ding, Woollard lab
Collage of Drosophila third instar larva optic lobe
Lu Yang, Davis lab
First year Biochemistry students at a practical class
Image showing the global movement of lipids in a model planar membrane
Matthieu Chavent, Sansom lab
Bootstrap Slider

A taste of biochemistry for school students

Why study biochemistry at University? Here in the department we have tried to answer this question for 40 students visiting Oxford for a week-long residential camp as part of the UNIQ summer school program. This program aims to encourage students from UK state schools to apply to university by giving them a flavour of life as an undergraduate.

Uniq Students

UNIQ Students enjoying their summer camp

Over four days 36 DPhil students, postdocs and professors were involved in delivering activities for the UNIQ students. The students heard lectures on the latest research in structural biology, virology, immunity and ageing given by departmental staff. In the laboratory students extracted their own DNA for analysis with PCR, purified green fluorescent protein, tried their hand at combinatorial chemistry to make antibiotics and had the opportunity to learn how mutations can change the physiology of the model organism C. elegans. The iGEM team led an activity introducing the students to synthetic biology, and the students were also given the opportunity to experience a tutorial on structural biology.

Many thanks to all of those who participated: Ivan Campeotto, JL Kiappes, Juan Escobar, Dan Hellyer, Dave Stroud, Matt Higgins, Jo Miller, Ilias Kounatidis, Hayley Lees, Mark Wormald, Oliver Adams, Fiona Naugton, Archna Shah, Aino Jarvelin, Ana Clark, Jisoo Jean, Helena Francis, Emma Carter, Phoebe Oldach, Lan Le, Henry Sawczyk, Jacqueline Gill, Marc Daemgen, Sarah-Beth Amos, Ekaterina Lamber, Natasha Rhys, Anna Duncan, Kyle Bennet, Josie Elliott and the iGEM team, for sharing their expertise with enthusiasm and energy.



Share This