Department of Biochemistry University of Oxford Department of Biochemistry
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QU

Tel: +44 (0)1865 613200
Fax: +44 (0)1865 613201
Image showing the global movement of lipids in a model planar membrane
Matthieu Chavent, Sansom lab
Anaphase bridges in fission yeast cells
Whitby lab
Lactose permease represented using bending cylinders in Bendix software
Caroline Dahl, Sansom lab
Epithelial cells in C. elegans showing a seam cell that failed to undergo cytokinesis
Serena Ding, Woollard lab
Collage of Drosophila third instar larva optic lobe
Lu Yang, Davis lab
First year Biochemistry students at a practical class
Bootstrap Slider

Other DPhil Programmes

Details of other postgraduate programmes can be found on the Medical Sciences Graduate School website.

There are several other DPhil programmes that enable you to perform your research with supervisors in the Department of Biochemistry

DPhil in Biochemistry (OU/TSRI) (or Skaggs-Oxford Programme)

The Skaggs-Oxford programme is a joint five-year course of study in Biology, Chemistry, or Chemical Biology at the Scripps Research Institute (TSRI) in La Jolla, California, and Biochemistry or Chemical Biology at the University of Oxford. It leads to the award of a DPhil/PhD degree jointly by the University of Oxford and The Scripps Research Institute. Further information on this programme, and how to apply, can be found on the Medical Sciences Graduate School website and The Scripps Research Institute website. Please note that the application deadline for this programme is December 1.

Structured DPhil Programmes

These programmes, some of which are hosted by the Medical Sciences Doctoral Training Centre, have a first year of taught courses and rotation through two or more supervisors' laboratories before the student begins their main research project in year 2. Some group leaders in this Department can supervise students on the following programmes:


Other schemes

The NIH-Oxford-Cambridge Scholars Programme is for students from the United States to undertake collaborative four-year DPhil training based in both Oxford and the intramural campus of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) at Bethesda (Maryland, USA).

Wellcome Trust and National Institutes of Health four year PhD studentships provide the same opportunity for students from the UK, EU, Iceland, and Norway.















Related Information

Share This