Department of Biochemistry University of Oxford Department of Biochemistry
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QU

Tel: +44 (0)1865 613200
Fax: +44 (0)1865 613201
Anaphase bridges in fission yeast cells
Whitby lab
Lactose permease represented using bending cylinders in Bendix software
Caroline Dahl, Sansom lab
Epithelial cells in C. elegans showing a seam cell that failed to undergo cytokinesis
Serena Ding, Woollard lab
Collage of Drosophila third instar larva optic lobe
Lu Yang, Davis lab
First year Biochemistry students at a practical class
Image showing the global movement of lipids in a model planar membrane
Matthieu Chavent, Sansom lab
Bootstrap Slider

Peter Beaconsfield Prizes for Two of Our Young Researchers

Sarah-Beth and Thomas

Sarah-Beth Amos (from the Sansom group) has won the 2017 Peter Beaconsfield Prize in Physiological Sciences and Thomas Dixon (from the McLain group) has won the Runner-up prize.

The prize is intended to reward young researchers who are capable of escaping from the stereotype of narrow specialisation to engage with translational medicine, and display a wider grasp of the significance and potential applicability of their research. Previous prize winners have gone on to develop their research internationally.

The Peter Beaconsfield Prize is awarded annually, by the University of Oxford Medical Sciences Division, with a winner's prize of £1000. The Prize is open to University of Oxford postgraduate students in Physiological Sciences (registered in the department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, Pharmacology, Pathology, Biochemistry or Experimental Psychology), who, in the 12 months preceding the closing date for applications for the prize, shall have applied for transfer to DPhil status.

Congratulations to Sarah-Beth and Thomas!




Related Information

Share This