Department of Biochemistry University of Oxford Department of Biochemistry
University of Oxford
South Parks Road
Oxford OX1 3QU

Tel: +44 (0)1865 613200
Fax: +44 (0)1865 613201
Anaphase bridges in fission yeast cells
Whitby lab
Lactose permease represented using bending cylinders in Bendix software
Caroline Dahl, Sansom lab
Epithelial cells in C. elegans showing a seam cell that failed to undergo cytokinesis
Serena Ding, Woollard lab
Collage of Drosophila third instar larva optic lobe
Lu Yang, Davis lab
First year Biochemistry students at a practical class
Image showing the global movement of lipids in a model planar membrane
Matthieu Chavent, Sansom lab
Bootstrap Slider

Professor Francis Barr announced as the new Head of the Department of Biochemistry

Professor Francis Barr

Professor Francis Barr

Francis Barr has been announced as the new Head of the Biochemistry Department with effect from 1st January 2019. He will take over from Professor Mark Sansom after just under 8 highly successful years in charge. Francis joined the Biochemistry Department in 2011 as the EP Abraham Professor of Mechanistic Cell Biology. His research addresses the mechanism by which human cells regulate cell division and membrane traffic and how dysregulation of these pathways can lead to cancer and other human diseases.

Mark Sansom commented, “I am delighted that Francis has been chosen as Head of Department for the next five years. He will provide clear and inspiring leadership for a new phase in the life of the Department, including both the construction and opening of the new shared building, and a major revision to our undergraduate teaching. I have enjoyed my time as Head of Department, but now is a good time for me to focus on what I anticipate will be the final phase of my research.”

Professor Gavin Screaton, Head of the Medical Sciences Division commented: “I’m delighted that Francis will be the next Head of Biochemistry. Having worked in the department for a number of years, he understands the needs of the community well and I’m confident that he will lead the department from strength to strength. I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Professor Mark Sansom for leading the department for the best part of 8 years and wish him every success in the future.”



Related Information

Share This