Meet our researchers

We are a multidisciplinary department with research interests spanning all aspects of modern molecular and cellular biochemistry.

Our goal is to understand the mechanisms underlying fundamental problems in biology using a range of approaches, from atomic resolution biophysics to bioimaging, chromosomal biology studies, and developmental genetics.
Working in a collaborative setting, our researchers benefit from state-of-the-art infrastructure and sharing of expertise.

Past Members

Professor Judith Armitage: Flagellar rotation and intracellular signalling pathways controlling bacterial chemotaxis
Contact: judith.armitage@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Dr Alfredo Castello: Understanding the role of RNA-binding proteins in virus infection
Contact: alfredo.castellopalomares@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Professor Stuart Ferguson: Structure function and biogenesis of bacterial respiratory proteins
Contact: stuart.ferguson@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Professor Elspeth Garman: Methods development for structural biology
Contact: elspeth.garman@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Professor Jonathan Hodgkin: Genetics of nematode immunity and development
Contact: jonathan.hodgkin@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Prof David Sherratt: Bacterial Chromosome Dynamics
Contact: david.sherratt@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Dr Phillip Stansfeld: Computational Biochemistry of Membrane Proteins
Contact: Phillip.Stansfeld@warwick.ac.uk

Associate Prof John Vakonakis: Structural biology of large cellular assemblies
Contact: ioannis.vakonakis@bioch.ox.ac.uk