Peter Beaconsfield Prizes for Two of Our Young Researchers

Sarah-Beth Amos (from the Sansom group) has won the 2017 Peter Beaconsfield Prize in Physiological Sciences and Thomas Dixon (from the McLain group) has won the Runner-up prize.

Sarah-Beth and Thomas

Sarah-Beth and Thomas

The prize is intended to reward young researchers who are capable of escaping from the stereotype of narrow specialisation to engage with translational medicine, and display a wider grasp of the significance and potential applicability of their research. Previous prize winners have gone on to develop their research internationally.

The Peter Beaconsfield Prize is awarded annually, by the University of Oxford Medical Sciences Division, with a winner's prize of £1000. The Prize is open to University of Oxford postgraduate students in Physiological Sciences (registered in the department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, Pharmacology, Pathology, Biochemistry or Experimental Psychology), who, in the 12 months preceding the closing date for applications for the prize, shall have applied for transfer to DPhil status.

Congratulations to Sarah-Beth and Thomas!


Julian Jordan
4th July 2017